Can I leave my baby at a fire station?
What happens if I Safe Haven abandon my child?
I just had a baby and I don’t know what to do? Where can I leave my baby?
These are all things we’ve heard from mothers who feel that they are unsure if they’re ready to parent. If you aren’t aware, Florida does have a Safe Haven Abandonment Law. This law allows you to leave your baby, up to seven-days-old, with an employee at any hospital, emergency medical services station or firehouse in the entire state of Florida.
Babies that are left at a Safe Haven location will eventually be placed for adoption. However, they will be in a bit of legal limbo for a while, until parental rights can be terminated. At a minimum that will take 30 days.
If you know you are not able to parent, you could also consider making an adoption plan for your child with a Florida Adoption Attorney or Agency. The Adoption Law Offices of Madonna Finney has been helping woman in Florida make loving adoption plans for over 20 years. We are experienced and can act quickly. We also have a pool of pre-screened, waiting adoptive families.
If you’ve just had a baby and you’re not sure if you’re prepared to become a parent, don’t panic. You’re not alone. We can arrange to meet you at once to assist in making a plan where your child will immediately go to a loving, prescreened adoptive home and not have to wait in foster care.
You can call or text us 24/7 at (850) 308-1836.